Sunday, October 15, 2017

Video: Atlas rocket launches satellite for National Reconnaissance Office

An Atlas V rocket lifts off with the National Reconnaissance Office's NROL-52 payload. This was the 60th Atlas V to launch from Cape Canaveral's Space Launch Complex-41 in Florida.

Skyjet flight struck by drone

On Oct. 12, a Skyjet flight was struck by a drone while inbound to Jean Lesage International Airport in Qu├ębec City, Canada. In a statement released Sunday, the Minister of Transport in Canada, Marc Garneau, said, “This is the first time a drone has hit a commercial aircraft in Canada and I am extremely relieved that the aircraft only sustained minor damage and was able to land safely.

"Although the vast majority of drone operators fly responsibly, it was our concern for incidents like this that prompted me to take action and issue interim safety measures restricting where recreational drones could be flown,” Garneau said. “I would like to remind drone operators that endangering the safety of an aircraft is extremely dangerous and a serious offense. Anyone who violates the regulations could be subject to fines of up to $25,000 and/or prison. This applies to drones of any size, used for any purpose. All airports, helipads and seaplane bases are 'No Drone Zones' if you do not have permission from Transport Canada. For 2017, to date 1,596 drone incidents have been reported to the department. Of these, 131 are deemed to have been of aviation safety concern.”

Friday, October 13, 2017

FAA sets requirement for quieter aircraft

Beginning Jan. 1, the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) will require newly designed aircraft to be quieter which will help toward lowering noise around airports and surrounding communities. Called “Stage 5 Airplane Noise Standards,” this FAA rule ensures that the latest available noise reduction technology is incorporated into new aircraft designs. As a result, new airplane type designs in the subsonic jet airplanes and subsonic transport category large airplanes will operate at least seven decibels quieter than airplanes in the current fleet.

In 1975, there were about 200 million people flying in the United States, with about seven million people exposed to what is considered significant aircraft noise. Since then, an FAA study conducted in 2015 showed that the number of people flying in the United States had almost quadrupled yet the number of people exposed to aircraft noise had dropped to around 340,000, or a 94 percent reduction in aircraft noise exposure.

The FAA continues to meet its reduction in aircraft noise and other environmental aviation goals through the Continuous Lower Energy, Emissions and Noise (CLEEN) program.  CLEEN is the FAA’s principal Next Generation environmental effort to accelerate the development of new aircraft, engine technologies, and advance sustainable alternative jet fuels.

Monday, October 2, 2017

SkyWest orders 20 E-Jets from Embraer

Embraer announced a firm order from SkyWest, Inc. for 20 E-Jets on Monday. The order has a value of $914 million, based on current list prices, and will be included in Embraer's 2017 third-quarter backlog. Combined with last month's announcement for 25 new aircraft, Monday's order results in a cumulative order of 45 new aircraft placed by SkyWest with Embraer in 2017.

Of the 20 aircraft, SkyWest will receive 15 E175 SC (Special Configuration) aircraft, in a 70-seat configuration. The E175 SC aircraft features an E175 airframe, which can be retrofitted to 76 seats in the future. SkyWest will also receive five E175s, in a 76-seat configuration, similar to aircraft SkyWest
has previously ordered.

Including this new contract, Embraer has sold more than 380 E175 jets to airlines in North America since January 2013, earning more than 80 percent of all orders in the 76-seat jet segment. Since entering revenue service, the E-Jets family has received more than 1,700 orders and over 1,300 aircraft have been delivered. Today, E-Jets are flying in the fleets of 70 customers in 50 countries.

Tuesday, August 22, 2017

Atlas Dynamics takes first step in drone market with Atlas Pro

Atlas Dynamics, a leading provider of drone-based solutions for the professional user, announced Tuesday that it will showcase live demonstrations of its market-ready autonomous professional drone, the Atlas Pro, at InterDrone 2017. On the heels of the company's recent funding round announcement, Atlas will partner with U.S.-based, Pentagon Performance Inc. to deliver the first Pros to customers in the third quarter of 2017.

Atlas Dynamics' first product offers a market-leading combination of capabilities, including:
  • 55-minute flight time
  • 50 kilometer range
  • Compact size for portability and accessibility
  • Highly durable, light-weight carbon frame
  • Weather resistant
  • Autonomous, easy to integrate operating system
  • Versatile exchangeable payloads
"After founding the company just two years ago, we are launching our first product today," said Ivan Tolchinsky, CEO and Co-Founder of Atlas Dynamics.

Atlas Pro will be commercially available in North America this quarter, with Atlas' first U.S.-based customer receiving the platform this month. Atlas Pro will address several market segments, including infrastructure inspection, security, precision agriculture and emergency response.

Atlas Dynamics will be demonstrating Atlas Pro at InterDrone 2017 in Las Vegas, Sept. 6-9.

Wednesday, June 28, 2017

Virtual investment website UpDown closing in July

UpDown, a financial social media website operating in the U.S. that provides users with a virtual investment platform is closing its doors next month. The decision comes after a lot of deliberation about what the company believes is the future of the industry and what users are telling them.

“We are sorry to inform you that after many years of helping traders improve their investment strategies we will be closing,” the company said in an email to users. “We have decided that in order to be able to provide you with a better service, we want to focus all of our resources and efforts into building the best global platform for investors from all around the world:”

Updown will be closing down on July 31. Its service will be transferred to Sharewise.

UpDown was a full-fledged trading simulation with a virtual portfolio function that allowed investors to test and improve their skills through collaboration, competition and aggregated wisdom.

“Global markets are now more intertwined than ever before, what happens on the other side of the world will have an influence on your investments and outcomes,” UpDown officials said in their email. “Therefore it is now more important than ever to be able to have access to the insights of investors in their own local markets. If you want to know what is going on in the Chinese markets, you should just be able to see what Chinese investors are talking about and which stocks or subjects they consider important at a specific moment.

“This is precisely our goal in building and expanding, a global platform where investors from the USA can connect with Chinese, Korean, German, French, British or Indonesian investors (and we are constantly working on making this list longer). We are certain that the change will have a positive impact on our users in the long run.”